Monday, November 06, 2017
Saturday, November 04, 2017
Saturday, November 04, 2017

Not everyone is a sports fan, and a great many people in Houston have been focused on their own household woes because of the dramatic impact of Hurricane Harvey. We know how long such a flooding disaster can haunt a community.

Thursday, November 02, 2017

With a legal whimper, the most controversial and much-ballyhooed lawsuit against the oil and gas industry in Louisiana, a cause of much agitation over four years, has died at the door of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

In a political culture too often marked by rancor, it’s nice to see so many people gather each autumn at Louisiana’s Old State Capitol to have some fun.

In a year filled with so much real danger?— the horror of hurricanes, mass shootings and nuclear saber-rattling?— the fanciful frights of Halloween might seem a little off-key.

Monday, October 30, 2017
Sunday, October 29, 2017
Saturday, October 28, 2017
Thursday, October 26, 2017

While he might be counting the revenue chickens before they hatch, U.S. Sen. John N. Kennedy is right to suggest the best ways to use the potential — as yet, only potential — billions in one-time revenue that might become available to the federal …

Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Wednesday, October 25, 2017

While the vast majority of Americans get their health insurance through employer-sponsored plans, those on the individual market have seen both the good and bad in the marketplaces set up by the Affordable Care Act, aka Obamacare.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Sunday, October 22, 2017
Saturday, October 21, 2017
Friday, October 20, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017

If Louisiana is not alone, it is still far from a great distinction to have children spending nights at a social worker’s office, because there is no place for a child in state supervision to go.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

In Louisiana, we have traditionally not had a strong partisan tilt in politics, with Republicans and Democrats acting as blocs in the state Legislature. That has been changing in recent years but it is still nowhere near as controlling a factor as…

Monday, October 16, 2017
Sunday, October 15, 2017
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017

Although it’s less than an hour’s drive from Baton Rouge, the Avondale Scout Reservation in Clinton can seem a world away from the cares of the city and, indeed, the worries of the rest of the planet. Its more than 1,600 acres of forest, fields, t…

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The arrest on Wednesday of 10 men in connection with the loss of LSU freshman Maxwell Gruver suggests the challenge of seeking justice for the passing of a young man who might have been coerced to drink himself to death.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Sunday, October 08, 2017

The mayor and Metro Council, and many law enforcement agencies, have been tangled in some controversies over federal grants and the anti-violence initiative in Baton Rouge, BRAVE. There is much blame to go around.

In 1948, when President Harry Truman was far behind in the polls and expecting to lose the fall election, he called Congress back into session and challenged it to pass key legislation that the majority Republicans had opposed.

Friday, October 06, 2017
Thursday, October 05, 2017
Wednesday, October 04, 2017

Friends and family remember Cpl. Michael Paul Middlebrook as an officer who loved serving in the Lafayette Police Department. His tragic death in a shooting at a north Lafayette convenience store is a loss not only for his family and fellow office…

Monday, October 02, 2017
Sunday, October 01, 2017
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Friday, September 29, 2017

If it has seemed like there’s a lack of national unity these days, the cheers and a few happy tears in the United States House of Representatives chamber on Thursday shows that it’s not all gone.

Thursday, September 28, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Monday, September 25, 2017

While President Donald Trump has been a general critic of trade deals, saying they have been bad for this country, a lot of those comments have been accompanied by reassurances that the new administration would not move precipitously. But if perso…

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Get Bill Cassidy going on the technicalities of medical care in this country, and he’ll talk your ear off. It’s ironic that a comedian named Jimmy Kimmel has been heard by far more people, in Louisiana and the nation, about health care — when it’s…